INTO Manchester in partnership with The University of Manchester

INTO Manchester in partnership with The University of Manchester

United Kingdom

The University of Manchester is considered a red brick university, a product of the civic university movement of the late 19th century. The current University of Manchester was formed in 2004 following the merger of the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology and the Victoria University of Manchester. This followed a century of the two institutions working closely with one another.

0 Courses
NAN Rating


The University of Manchester is a public research university in Manchester, England. The main campus is south of Manchester City Centre on Oxford Road. The university owns and operates major cultural assets such as the Manchester MuseumWhitworth Art GalleryJohn Rylands Library and Jodrell Bank Observatory—a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology was founded in 1824, as the Mechanics' Institute. The founders believed that all professions somewhat relied on scientific principles. As such, the institute taught working individuals branches of science applicable to their existing occupations. They believed that the practical application of science would encourage innovation and advancements within those trades and professions. The Victoria University of Manchester was founded in 1851, as Owens College. Academic research undertaken by the university would be published via the Manchester University Press from 1904.

The University of Manchester is a member of the Russell Group, the N8 Group, and the worldwide Universities Research Association. The University of Manchester has 25 Nobel laureates among its past and present students and staff, the fourth-highest number of any single university in the United Kingdom.

CLICK HERE to view INTO Programs.

Book Appointment >